Central Division (NBA)

The Central Division is one of the three divisions in the Eastern Conference of the National Basketball Association (NBA).

The division consists of five teams, the Chicago Bulls, the Cleveland Cavaliers, the Detroit Pistons, the Indiana Pacers and the Milwaukee Bucks. All groups, except the Cavaliers, are former Midwest Division teams, hence the Central Division now largely simplifies the Midwest Division in the 1970s.
The branch was created at the start of the 1970–71 season, when the league expanded from 14 to 17 teams with the addition of the Buffalo Braves, the Cleveland Cavaliers and the Portland Trail Blazers. The league realigned itself into two conferences, the Western Conference and the Eastern Conference, with two branches each in every conference. The Central Division began with four inaugural members, the Atlanta Hawks, the Baltimore Bullets, the Cincinnati Royals and the Cleveland Cavaliers. [1] The Hawks joined in the Western Section, although the Bullets and the Royals united from the Eastern Division.
The Pistons have won the most Central Division titles with nine. The Bulls have won the second most titles . Eleven NBA winners came in the Central Division. The Bulls won six championships, the Pistons won three championships and also the Bullets and Cavs won a single championship each. All of these, except the 1977–78 Bullets along with the 2003–04 Pistons, were division champions. From the 2005–06 season, all five teams from the branch qualified for the playoffs. The division champion is the Cleveland Cavaliers. The Central Division has the many teams that have won an tournament, with four out of five teams winning the championship, along with the Pacers the only franchise to not have won.
The Central Division existed for one season in the 1949–50 year as one of the 3 branches in the NBA, along with the Western and the Eastern Division. On the other hand, the current Central Division that was shaped at the 1970, is one of the three branches in the Eastern Conference, the successor of the Eastern Division.

Read more: allabouttopnews.com