Primoz Roglic wins Vuelta a Espana after Sunday’s final stage

Primoz Roglic became the first Slovenian by finishing the processional point of Sunday into Madrid when he was crowned Vuelta a Espana champion, to acquire a Grand Tour.
Having completed the hard work over the past few months, Roglic successfully defended his sizeable lead over second-placed Alejandro Valverde in the 21st phase of the race, a 106.6km journey in Fuenlabada into the centre of Madrid.
Whilst world champion Valverde finished 19th 17 minutes before Roglic, who stopped the race two minutes 16 minutes before the Spaniard dutchman Fabio Jakobsen maintained the stage victory.
The compatriot Tadej Pogacar of roglic took the final position 38 seconds back, rounding off a race.
“Winning this race is a wonderful atmosphere and to be up here with another Slovenian makes it much better, it is great news for biking in our nation,” Roglic said from the podium outside the Cibeles Palace in Madrid.
“I haven’t had time to think about all of this, however, all I know is that me and the team cried together to make history”
Roglic was despite a solid start that saw him and also his Jumbo-Visma team-mates involved with a mass crash over the launching stage and showed remarkable consistency throughout the race, among the favourites.
40 minutes were lost by the Slovenian to leader Miguel Angel Lopez as a consequence of the wreck but came flying right back with a success on the first time trial into contention on phase 10 to take the red jersey out of Nairo Quintana.
His timing trial exploits gave him a commanding lead of three minutes the Slovenian seldom seemed like surrendering his benefit and although Valverde and Quintana exchanged places as Roglic challenger.
He did suffer a scare when he jumped on stage 19 as cycling etiquette dictates that no attacks are allowed if a race boss possesses a mechanical issue or crashes, and Valverde’s Movistar team attacked into the outrage of several at the peloton.
Valverde eventually caved in to the protests and Roglic had been allowed to catch up with all the peloton, and he sealed the total victory by inhabiting Saturday’s gruelling mountain stage into Plataforma de Gredos.
1 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team Jumbo-Visma 83hrs 7mins 31secs
Two Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team at 2mins 16secs
3 Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates at 2mins 38secs
4 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team at 3mins 29secs
5: Miguel Angel Lopez (Col) Astana Guru Team at 4mins 31secs
6 Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe in 7mins 16secs
7 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb at 9mins 47secs
8 Carl Fredrik Hagen (Nor) Lotto Soudal at 12mins 54secs
9 Marc Soler (Spa) Movistar Team at 22mins 10secs
10 Mikel Nieve (Spa) Mitchelton-Scott at 22mins 17secs
Selected others
11 James Knox (Gbr) Deceuninck-QuickStep in 22mins 52secs
20 Tao Geoghegan Hart (Gbr) Team Ineos at 1hrs 4mins 4secs
70 Owain Doull (Gbr) Team Ineos in 3hrs 7mins 55secs
106 Ian Stannard (Gbr) Team Ineos in 4hrs 5mins 22secs
134 Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe in 4hrs 41mins 27secs
1 Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck-QuickStep 2hrs 48mins 20secs
2 Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Szymon Sajnok (Pol) CCC Team
4 Jon Aberasturi Izaga (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
5 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Information
6 Edward Theuns (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
7 Tosh Van Der Sande (Bel) Lotto Soudal
8 Clement Venturini (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
]9 Marc Sarreau (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
10 Dion Smith (NZl) Mitchelton-Scott
Selected others
44 James Knox (Gbr) Deceuninck-QuickStep in 14secs
51 Ian Stannard (Gbr) Team Ineos exactly the same time
101 Tao Geoghegan Hart (Gbr) Team Ineos in 38secs
124 Owain Doull (Gbr) Team Ineos at same time

Read more: http://www.cetemet.es/ufc-fn147-betting-tips-plays/